navigation
>current
>archives
>cast
>profile
>extras
contact
>email
>notes
>g-book
thanks
>design
>diaryland
Spa Day
June 26, 2003 - 11:04 A.M.

Tuesday evening I did something that all women should do more often than I do. I took a good long look in the mirror to assess the damage. It turns out that I�m not hideous or ugly, or even undesirable (as long as I was checking from neck down). I�m actually sort of pretty I just needed some damage control.

You see, pregnancy does something terrible to your self esteem. It makes you think that you are unattractive and round.

So yesterday I did something about it. I went to a tanning salon, (Please no one freak out about that, the baby was ok with it.) I bought a bottle of hair dye 2 shades lighter, and some new shampoo and conditioner. Thank goodness I didn�t go on a shopping binge at Albertsons. I talked myself out of buying a flat iron, new nail polish, lipstick, eye shadow, and any kind of hair styling products. I was able to get out of there with only $16.50 worth of goods and $5.40 worth of tan.

The tanning bed was interesting. The lady said if I felt dizzy or overheated that I should get out. She told me I better only stay in for 12 min. but I decided that 10 would be good and I got out after 7 min when I started to feel a prickle on the tops of my thighs. I went to the studio to work on a table for Rebecca, then home for some beauty 101. While I was waiting for my color I tweezed my eyebrows, painted my toenails, and put a sunless tanning lotion on the apples of my cheeks.

The result was miraculous, what a great investment. The 22 bucks I spent on my �makeover� made me feel like a million bucks. That�s what I call a good return. Also, I think Eric was excited to see me take an interest in my appearance because when my beauty time was over he was ready to �rock and roll� which probably had nothing to do with the way I looked and everything to do with my new attitude.

This morning I smoothed on a little more bronzer, some shimmer powder, a dab of lip gloss, and some mascara (the most makeup I have worn this entire year) and bounced out of the house. Today I�m ready for anything. I�m really fighting the urge to go back to the tanning bed though. This evening I�m back in the studio to work on the table some more.

previous - next

End of Nfinity - July 31, 2003
God brought our lives together - July 29, 2003
Tania's tattoo - July 28, 2003
To Arkansas We Go - July 28, 2003
Weekly wrap-up - July 25, 2003